Grains Research and Development

Contacts

For further information contact:


Paul Umina

Entomologist

cesar

03 9349 4723

pumina@cesaraustralia.com


Garry McDonald

Entomologist

cesar

03 9349 4723

gmcdonald@cesaraustralia.com


Bill Kimber

Entomologist

SARDI

08 8303 9536

bill.kimber@sa.gov.au


Greg Baker

Entomologist

SARDI

08 8303 9544

greg.baker@sa.gov.au


Owain Edwards

Entomologist

CSIRO

08 9333 6401

owain.edwards@csiro.au


Svetlana Micic

Entomologist DAFWA

DAWFA

DAFWA Head Office
3 Baron-Hay Court South
Perth WA 6151

08 9892 8591

Svetlana.micic@agric.wa.gov.au


Dr Melina Miles

Principal Entomologist

DAFF Queensland

Toowoomba

07 46881369

melina.miles@daff.qld.gov.au


Jenny Davidson

Plant pathologist

SARDI

08 8303 9389

jenny.davidson@sa.gov.au


Brenda Coutts

Plant virologist

DAFWA

08 9368 3266

brenda.coutts@agric.wa.gov.au


Frank Henry

Cropsafe pathologist

DEPI Victoria

0447 777480

frank.henry@depi.vic.gov.au


Angela Freeman

Plant virologist

DEPI Victoria

03 53622111

angela.freeman@depi.vic.gov.au


Murray Sharman

Senior Plant Pathologist

DAFF Qld

Ecosciences Precinct, Brisbane

07 3255 4339

murray.sharman@qld.gov.au

Date: 15.07.2014

Green peach aphid and beet western yellows virus

Beet western yellows virus in canola

Typical symptoms of BWYV in canola. 

Photo: Mick Faulkner

What is BWYV?

BWYV infects the phloem (the living tissue that carries organic nutrients to all parts of the plant where needed) of plants and is persistently transmitted by aphid vectors. BWYV infection can result in significant losses in seed yield and oil content. Symptoms may initially resemble nutrient deficiencies, herbicide damage, physiological stress or other disorders. Leaves may turn yellow and purple, starting from the lower leaves. Other symptoms may include leaf mottling, leaves becoming thickened and cupping inwards, and premature bolting.

Canola is most susceptible to BWYV at the rosette stage, when infection can lead to high yield losses. Generally, the yield consequences of BWYV decrease with infection at later stages of crop development. However, canola can remain susceptible to yield losses from BWYV infection until approximately the mid-podding stage. Infection after this stage usually results in minimal yield loss but oil quality can still be affected.

Green peach aphid is the most important vector of BWYV (96% transmission efficiency) but cabbage aphid can also transmit it (14% transmission efficiency) as can cowpea aphid. Certain strains of BWYV commonly infect pulse crops in south-western Australia, New South Wales and South Australia, while other strains are limited to canola only.

Read more...

podcast logo Audio

083: Aphid testing & new pre-emergent herbicide manual | GRDC Radio (Southern Update)

GRDC Project Code: OBR00004

Date: 03.06.2015

On this program, a new pesticide efficacy test for green peach aphid and we hear about a new manual for agronomists on pre-emergent herbicides. more

podcast logo Audio

050: Controlling GPA | GRDC Radio (Southern Update)

GRDC Project Code: OBR00004

Date: 13.08.2014

On this program an extended interview with Paul Umina from cesar on the control of Green Peach Aphid and other aphids in canola and pulse crops this Spring. more

podcast logo Audio

046: Green Peach Aphid in canola | GRDC Radio (Southern Update)

GRDC Project Code: OBR00004

Date: 16.07.2014

In this program, growers cautioned about spraying green peach aphids in their canola crops and we preview the upcoming GRDC Research Updates for growers in the southern region. more

podcast logo Audio

045: Sandy soil constraints | GRDC Radio (Southern Update)

GRDC Project Code: )BR00004

Date: 09.07.2014

On this program, sandy soils in the Mallee the subject of a new scoping study, the GRDC Board tours Victoria and warnings about a canola aphid virus in South Australia. more