Members appointed to Cropping Solutions Committees

Author: | Date: 08 Mar 2012

Members appointed to Cropping Solutions Committees

Identification of local grain production constraints and opportunities has been taken to a new level with the appointment of members to the Grains Research and Development Corporation’s (GRDC) Southern Region Cropping Solutions Committees.

The recently-created four regional committees now comprise grain growers, advisers, agronomists, consultants and researchers who have been appointed to provide support and advice to the GRDC’s Southern Regional Panel.

GRDC Southern Regional Panel chair David Shannon says the committees cover the four principal cropping zones of south eastern Australia – high rainfall, medium rainfall, low rainfall and irrigated.

“The new committees have been established as part of an effort by GRDC to better identify priority regional issues in each of those cropping zones and determine how best to tackle these issues,” Mr Shannon said.

Each committee will liaise with the wider grain grower community in their respective production zone, and activities will include convening regional meetings with relevant grower, farming systems and industry groups.

The GRDC, through its recently-appointed Cropping Solutions Facilitators, will support the work of the committees, which also include members of GRDC’s Southern Regional Panel. The committee member appointments are for a three-year term.

Appointed to the high rainfall zone Cropping Solutions Committee are: John Bennett, Lawloit (Vic); Phil Bowden, Cootamundra (NSW); Mark Branson, Stockport (SA); Michael Chilvers, Nile (Tas); Philip Hawker, Derrinallum (Vic); Terry Horan, Carrick (Tas); Jon Midwood, Inverleigh (Vic); Rob Norton, Horsham (Vic); Lawrence Richmond, Ballarat (Vic); Lachlan Seears, Lucindale (SA); and Neil Vallance, Lake Bolac (Vic).

Appointed to the medium rainfall zone Cropping Solutions Committee are: Matt Dare, Clare (SA); Mick Faulkner, Watervale (SA); Roy Hamilton, Rand (NSW); Mark Harris, Wagga Wagga (NSW); Julia Hausler, Warracknabeal (Vic); Jeff Hoffman, Lockhart (NSW); Grant Hollaway, Horsham (Vic); Adam Inchbold, Yarrawonga (Vic); Glenn McDonald, Glen Osmond (SA); Colin McMaster, Forbes (NSW); Mark Modra, Port Lincoln (SA); Peter Taylor, Lubeck (Vic).

Appointed to the low rainfall zone Cropping Solutions Committee are: Russell Amery, Wycheproof (Vic); Andy Bates, Streaky Bay (SA); Danny Conlan, Swan Hill (Vic); Barry Haskins, Griffith (NSW); Bruce Heddle, Minnipa (SA); Chris Kelly, Woomelang (Vic); Rick Llewellyn, Urrbrae (SA); Michael Moodie, Mildura (Vic); Barry Mudge, Port Germein (SA); Scott Vaessen, Griffith (NSW).

Appointed to the irrigation zone Cropping Solutions Committee are: David Brown, Naracoorte (SA); Jock Coupland, Condobolin (NSW); Luke Gaynor, Wagga Wagga (NSW); Anthony Hamilton, Forbes (NSW); Michael Hughes, Morago (NSW); Damien Jones, Kerang (Vic); Kieren O’Keefe, Griffith (NSW); Fraser Pogue, Ardmona (Vic); Craig Reynolds, Congupna (Vic).


Media releases and other media products can be found at  

Media interviews: David Shannon
GRDC Southern Regional Panel chair
0419 830700

Contact: Sharon Watt
Porter Novelli
0409 675100