Australian Government: Grains Research and Development CororationGRDC Annual Report 2005-2006

HomeAppendices › Appendix 6: GRDC Selection Committee

Appendix 6: GRDC Selection Committee

The Hon Sussan Ley MP
Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
Parliament House

Dear Ms Ley


The following report summarises the activities of the Grains Research and Development Corporation (GRDC) Selection Committee for the reporting period to 30 June 2006.

Establishment of the Selection Committee

On 19 April 2005, Senator Colbeck, the then Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry, reappointed Mr. Dennis Mutton as Presiding Member of the GRDC Board Selection Committee. Mr Mutton was appointed for a period until 30 April 2008, in accordance with subsection 122(1) of the PIERD Act1989.

In accordance with section 124 of the PIERD Act, nominations were sought for members of the Selection Committee from the GRDC's representative industry organisation, the Grains Council of Australia, and the Parliamentary Secretary appointed the following people on 2 June 2005:


Selection Process

In accordance with the above Act applications were called through placing advertisements in National, State and regional newspapers during the period 23-28 May 2005. The closing date for applications was 14 June 2005. In addition representative organisations were also contacted directly.

A total of 118 applications were received and the Selection Committee in establishing a short list for further consideration and interview, considered all applications. The Committee also was briefed on the future strategic directions of the Corporation.

Following detailed review of candidates 17 applications were scheduled for interview, which took place on 25 and 26 July 2005 in Melbourne. Referee checks were then conducted as required.

Board Appointments

Upon completion of the process in accordance with section 131 of the PIERD Act, the Selection Committee forwarded six nominations to the Parliamentary Secretary on 7August 2005. The Parliamentary Secretary accepted the nominations and made the following appointments on 23 September 2005 for a three-year term commencing on 1 October 2005.

Summary of Expenditure
Expenditure by the Selection Committee to 30 June 2006 was:
Item Expenditure $
Advertising 10,211.85
Consultants 6,499.00
Presiding Member Sitting Fees 6,250.00
Expenses Associated with Selection Process (Including airfares of members and candidates) 28,960.69
Total 51,921.54

Yours sincerely


Dennis Mutton
Presiding Member
Grains Research and Development Corporation Selection Committee

Top of Page