GRDC Board selected

The GRDC's Board for the next two years will be headed by businessman Grant Latta. Five new Directors have also been announced by the Parliamentary Secretary for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry, Senator Judith Troeth.

The new Directors are Ray Shorter, Christine Hawkins, Jan Mahoney, Terry Enright and Tony Fischer. Richard Clark was reappointed.

Senator Troeth noted Mr Latta's extensive experience in the public and private sector "which will prove invaluable as the GRDC helps Australia's grains industry meet the challenges of the new millennium".

Mr Latta is currently Executive Chairman of investment management company GCMCORP, and a former Managing Director of Food Operations with Pacific Dunlop. He is a member of the Austrade Board and the Export Finance and Insurance Corporation.

R&D investment is moving more towards areas such as supply chain management, biotechnology and finding commercial applications for intellectual property, said Senator Troeth.

She said the five new Directors are bringing with them a wide range of expertise in these areas. Background details include:

Mr Terry Enright is a grains producer with broa commercial experience and a good understanding of research and development operations (and has been chairman of the GRDC's Western Regional Panel).

Dr Tony Fischer is a scientist with extensive international experience in crop science and crop production.

Ms Christine Hawkins has a background in business administration and commercialising intellectual property and is to provide a strong business focus.

Dr Jan Mahoney is a scientist with broad experience in grains and pulse agronomy, research and development administration and managing venture capital investments in the grains industry.

Dr Ray Shorter is a scientist who has worked extensively in the area of genetic plant modification.

Senator Troeth said the new Chairman and Directors offer the mix of skills and expertise to ensure Australia's grains industry remains a world leader. She also thanked outgoing Chairman Andrew Inglis and retiring Board members for their contributions to the GRDC and the grains industiy and urged them to stay involved.