Driving innovation on farm: Farming systems group wins in the north

THE NORTHERN region 'Seed of Light' 2003 accolade went for the first time to a team effort - the Central Queensland Sustainable Farming Systems project. The 20-strong team won the award for encouraging and developing 10 grower groups, spread over a large area, and involving these groups in action learning on-farm.

The team, mostly from the Queensland Department of Primary Industries, includes in Emerald: John Daughton, Jayne Kuskie, Vicki Osten, Veronica Chapman, Matt Leighton, Glen Wright and Megan McCosker; in Biloela: Rod Collins, Stuart Buck, Tanya Grundy, Matthew Bell and Peter Agius: in Rockhampton: biometrician David Reid; and in Toowoomba: Howard Cox, David Lawrence and Fred Chudleigh.

Region North