Appointments - New members for GRDC board

Four new directors have been appointed to the GRDC board. Nicole Birrell, Steve Marshall, Professor Timothy Reeves and Phillip Young join chairman Terry Enright and returning directors Dr Donald Plowman and Ross Johns for three-year terms, which started on 1 October 2005. Each new director has specialist grains industry skills, from production to managing international grain research centres.

Nicole Birrell runs a mixed cropping/grazing property in southern NSW and a risk management consultancy. She is also a director of SMS Management and Technology Ltd, a director of the Australian Practice Nurses Association Inc and a former director of AusBulk Ltd.

Steve Marshall is a consultant with a background in science and international food processing. He is serving his second term as a director on the board of the Rural Industries Research and Development Corporation. He is also a director with the Cooperative Research Centre for Sustainable Rice Production, a former managing director of Goodman Fielder Ingredients and a former director of Plantic Technologies Ltd.

Professor Tim Reeves is a consultant in agricultural R&D, sustainable agriculture, natural resource management and international development. He recently returned from Mexico, where he was director general of the International Maize and Wheat Improvement Centre (CYMMIT). He also chairs the NSW Agricultural Advisory Council on Gene Technology and is a former board member of the CRC for Molecular Plant Breeding and the Rural Adjustment Scheme Advisory Council.

Phillip Young owns a grain property in WA and consults in Australia and overseas on rural development and agribusiness. He is a founding director with technology and development company Agrilink Pty Ltd and recently retired as chair of Australian Grain Technologies Pty Ltd.

Announcing the appointments, Senator Richard Colbeck, Parliamentary Secretary for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestries, also thanked outgoing directors Dr Rachel Lucus, Dr Tony Fischer and Christine Hawkins for their contribution to the GRDC and the grains industries.