Researchers, advisers and industry leaders are critical to the Australian grains RD&E community, without them we could not deliver enduring profitability for Australian grain growers. We support our regional panels to recognise the important contribution of individuals to the Australian grains industry through the following awards.

Seed of Light

The prestigious Seed of Light awards were established to recognise a researchers’ outstanding communication of GRDC supported research outcomes at the regional Grains Research Updates.

Since 1999, an award has presented annually in the following regions:

  • north
  • south
  • west.

We encourage effective and ‘to-the-point’ research communication, because research is of little value unless adopted by growers.

Recently, the award criteria were expanded to allow our regional panels to recognise the outstanding efforts of a GRDC contracted consultant or grower. The recipient must have exhibited dedication and commitment in communicating grains industry research at a regional level.



The 2021 award recipients include:


The 2020 award recipients include:

View all our Seed of Light award recipients.

Seed of Gold

The Seed of Gold award recognises the outstanding contribution, dedication and commitment of individuals to communicating research outcomes to the Australian grains industry.

This prestigious award is not awarded often and recognises those who have made a significant and enduring impact on the Australian grains industry.

View our award recipients.

Emerging Leader and Recognising and Rewarding Excellence awards

These awards recognise excellence, commitment and passion for the Australian grains industry and support recipients to enhance in their future contribution.

They can be awarded to:

  • career researchers
  • advisers
  • growers
  • other industry participants.


The 2021 award recipients include:


The 2020 award recipients include:

View the full list of recipients.